Home  |   About INEM  |   Projects  |   Tools  |   Contact  |   Legal information  |   Privacy Policy

Hikmet Ersek from Western Union named as a Responsible CEO of the Year by Corporate Responsibility Magazine - 18 September, 2012.

Hikmet Ersek was named a Responsible CEO of the Year by Corporate Responsibility Magazine. Each year since 2008, CR Magazine has awarded the prestigious Responsible CEO of the Year Award to CEOs from business, NGOs, and government, who, during the previous year, put themselves at personal and professional risk in order to deliver on corporate responsibility promises.

Awards are presented to CEOs across industries that visibly exceed standards in the areas of employee relations, environmental impact, human rights, philanthropy and corporate responsibility practices.

"Corporate responsibility begins at the top," said Richard Crespin, Executive Director of the Corporate Responsibility Officer Association and Chairman of the COMMIT!Forum. "This year's award is unique among business honors as it shines the spotlight on a group of individuals and their organizations that display a commitment to stakeholders and society through positive leadership."

The winners of the 2012 Responsible CEO of the Year awards are the following:

Hikmet Ersek, Chief Executive Officer & President, Western Union Company

Bob Moritz, US Chairman and Senior Partner, PwC

Jeffrey Ettinger, Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer, Hormel Foods

Gale Klappa, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Wisconsin Energy

"Corporate responsibility is a business strategy that shapes how we operate on a daily basis," said Hikmet Ersek, Chief Executive Officer and President, The Western Union Company. "At Western Union, we operate daily by understanding the social needs of our underserved global customers. As a successful company in more than 200 countries, we change, adapt and promote our products and services to their needs."

All award winners were nominated by fellow members of the CR community and selected by an independent judging panel comprised of previous winners and other industry leaders. The 2011 Responsible CEOs included Arne Duncan of the US Department of Education, Jeffrey Joerres of ManpowerGroup, Donald Knauss of The Clorox Company, Fred Krupp of the Environmental Defense Fund, and Paul Rooke of Lexmark International, Inc.

"After a thorough selection process, it was clear that this year's winners exemplified the leadership qualities it takes to deliver on corporate responsibility promises," added 2011 Responsible CEO Lifetime Achievement Award Winner Jeffery Joerres, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, ManpowerGroup. "We are pleased to recognize our esteemed business colleagues as they continue to embrace a commitment towards positive societal change."

In determining the winners, judges considered several dimensions of the aforementioned standards including: the scope of the CEO's impact on their organization and community, the extent to which the CEO drove this initiative, and the individual reputation or professional risk taken by the CEO.

The 2012 recipients will be honored at CR Magazine's Responsible CEO of the Year Awards Dinner taking place at the COMMIT!Forum, Wednesday October 3rd at Cipriani in New York City from 7:00-9:30pm


18 September, 2012.